Page Actions

When on any page's data grid, you have a variety of actions available to you on the main toolbar. Main toolbars vary by user based on the Security Roles that SPoCs have provided them, including varying from page to page.
 
 

New

Clicking New creates one new record on that page. When you click New, you have access to the various record actions (e.g., editing, copying, etc.). New is initially configured as unavailable on the Contacts page; instead, use the Add/Edit Family Tool to create a new Contact record. With careful consideration, a SPoC may choose to update this value on the Page record

Assign

If you have a selection, you can use the Assign action to mass update specific field(s) in every record in that selection. This allows you to quickly change specific information on multiple records. This is an update action only; that is, it only changes data on records that already exist in the Platform. Custom fields are included as fields that can be updated in the Assign action. 
 
Assign with care! This is a powerful tool and should be used cautiously, as undoing a hasty assignment can be time-consuming (and potentially costly). This functionality should be limited to users who are trained to use it wisely and correctly.
To use the Assign action:
  1. Make sure the bottom right corner of your screen reads "0 Selected." If it doesn't, clear your selection before proceeding. 
  2. Select the records to update.
  3. Change your selection drop-down to Current/Unsaved Selection to confirm you have the correct records selected.
  4. Click Assign.
  5. In the pop-up window, click the box next to the field(s) you want to update, and update the field(s) as desired. Clicking append adds your text to the end of whatever is already in that field. 

  1. Click Save.
  2. A pop-up window asks you to confirm the update. To proceed, click OK.
  3. The selection now reflects the update, as does the records' Audit Logs. You can clear the selection if you're done with it. 

Delete

If you have a selection, you can use the Delete action to completely remove the record(s) from the Platform. 
 
Delete with care! This is a powerful tool and should be used with extreme caution. Any data deleted from MinistryPlatform is completely gone. Recovering deleted data requires Professional Services and incurs a cost. As such, this functionality should be limited to users who are trained to use it wisely and correctly.
Note that people records on the Contact or Participant pages should never be deleted; instead, we recommend using the Combine Contacts Tool (if there are duplicate records) or using the Inactivate Tool (if they no longer attend your church). 
 
To use the Delete action:
  1. Make sure the bottom right corner of your screen reads "0 Selected." If it doesn't, clear your selection before proceeding. 
  2. Select the records to delete.
  3. Change your selection drop-down to Current/Unsaved Selection to confirm you have the correct records selected.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. In the pop-up window, the affected records are listed (if any). These records depend on the existence of the records you're deleting. Choose the appropriate radio button based on what you want to do with the dependent records. Note that in order to delete a record on a page that is Direct Delete Only, you must be on the record's page to delete it. 
    • Reassign: Allows you to choose a different record to associate the dependent records with.
    • Unassign: Allows you to keep the dependent records, but not have them associated with that you're deleting.
    • Delete: Deletes the dependent records.

 

  1. Click Delete.
  2. A pop-up window asks you to confirm the deletion. To proceed, click OK.
  3. The record(s) are now deleted, the selection clears and any outstanding Tasks associated with the record(s) are deleted. 

The Delete action is also available on records and sub-pages

Export

If you have a selection, you can use the Export action to use the information outside of MinistryPlatform. To export your selection, click the Export option at the top of the page.

Next indicate your desired Export Options: Current View exports the columns in the current view and Selection Records exports the columns in the All Records view. Then choose your Output Format, and click Export. A file will download for your use.

Note: The "Current View" option will be greyed out if the current view and the selected records are identical.

The format of the export is determined by the fields defined in the Page (All Records view) or the selected Page View. You may need to create a custom View to get the fields you need in your export if they do not exist in the Page field list or View you are using.

Secure

If you have a selection, you can secure the records. Check out record restrictions to learn more.

Tools

Clicking Tools gives you access to the Core Tools available on that page. Some of the tools require you to make a selection before using the tool.

Reports

Clicking Reports gives you access to the Reports available on that page. Some of the reports require you to make a selection before using the report.

Layout (Grid, Images, Calendar, Gantt, Timeline)

Clicking the Layout drop-down allows you to change the Layout of the data grid.

Print

If you have a selection, you can simply click Print to print the records. If your print-out includes images, set your browser to enable "Print Background Graphics" (typically found in the browser's Settings area or on the print dialogue).

Refresh

Clicking Refresh reloads the data grid so that most up-to-date information is reflected. 
 

Last Modified: 8/30/2018

Did this article help?
× Thank You for the Feedback